Mileage Reimbursement Rates for Worker's Compensation Claimants
In the state of Georgia Atlanta, if you got injured at your job then according to Georgia Atlanta laws, you would be eligible for mileage reimbursement. Mileage reimbursement is one of the most common types of compensation for claimants.
It assists employees to cover the costs associated with traveling between medical appointments, therapy sessions, and other related trips.
Every state has its own rate and knowing what these rates are can help claimants maximize their compensation benefits. In this article, our main focus is on mileage reimbursement rates for worker’s compensation claimants in Atlanta, Georgia and how Atlanta workers comp attorney can help you in such situations.
What are Mileage Reimbursement Rates for Workers Compensation Claimants in Atlanta
According to the Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation, currently the rate is $0.40 per mile allowance. Every state has its own rates. These rates are set by the state and they can be changed according to the fluctuation in gas prices.
Reimbursement can provide you for transportation, cover your medical expenses, physical therapy, doctor visits etc.
Before a claimant files a claim he must know the rates in the specific state for mileage reimbursement if he wants to maximize the benefit.
Rates of Mileage Reimbursement in Different States of USA
States of USA
Get FREE legal consultation
Does Workers’ Compensation Reimburse Me for Mileage and Other Travel Expenses?
Yes, it does reimburse for mileage and travel expenses. When you file a claim the insurance company of your company is liable to reimburse you and they have a limited time to respond.
If a worker is injured at their job then workers compensation reimburses them. The cost of travel from their house to the medical center is covered. In addition to this, the travel to the medical center to pick up prescriptions or for physical therapy also come under this. Currently, mileage is reimbursed in atlanta is at 40 per cent per mile.
If as an employer you do not own any means to transport you to a nearby medical center then the insurance company of your company will arrange on its own expense. For instance, a taxi can help you in transportation etc.
Lodging and Food:
If your travel time from your house to the medical center is four hours and more then your employer can reimburse you. When the travel exceeds beyond the employee’s home town then the travel expenses will cover the cost of meals and lodging. Keep in mind that the cost of the meal cannot exceed $30 per day. Additionally, another important point is to remember that every case is different and will come with different circumstances. Moreover, you have only one year to submit mileage reimbursement requests under Georgia Law.
Yes, parking also comes under reimbursement for worker’s compensation if it’s attached to you receiving help for medications etc.
Documentation needed for mileage reimbursement case
Here is not any official form needed for mileage reimbursement cases but documentation of travel is important regardless which is why you should make a record. You can make sure to keep a record for the following
- Reason for the trip
- The places you visit for medical reasons
- Date and time for the trip
In addition to this, the document proof of gas purchased while traveling can also be helpful and can aid you in backing up your claim.
Contact lawyer to fight for you
Timeline for Mileage Reimbursement for Workers Compensation Case
Under Georgia Law, an employee has only one year to file a request for mileage reimbursement. When you file a claim, the issuance company has 30 days to respond. If the claimant fails to report mileage reimbursement within one year then he won’t be eligible for reimbursement. In order to be on the safe side, make sure to keep a track of bills, receipts, any kind of documentation that can assist you in backing up your claim. Make sure to submit the request as soon as possible.
What Happens if Insurer Fails to Respond to your Request
There are certain cases where the insurance company shows the lack of professionalism and responsibility to respond back to the claimant’s request. In such cases, according to Georgia Law, the insurance company of the company you work at has to face consequences. There are penalties imposed and they increase with the delay time.
- 30-60 delay will result in 10 % added reimbursement
- 60-90 delay will result in 20 % added reimbursement
- Over 90 days then 30 % added with a 12 % annual interest on the money owed.
How Can You Maximizing Available Compensation
The insurance company has up to 30 days after the claimant has filed the claim. If the insurer fails to respond then as an employee you would get more money which will be considered a penalty to the insurer.
In order to understand the complexity of this and overall reimbursement, you can hire a lawyer.
Undoubtedly, it is a big hassle to document your traveling expenses while you are sick and unable to work.
In this scene, an Atlanta worker comp lawyer can aid you and assist you to maximize your available compensation.
Frequently Asked Questions
You can calculate mileage reimbursement by using this “reimbursement amount= miles x rate”.
Yes, you must have a receipt for travel and business expenses because it can assist you in backing up your claim.
Mileage Reimbursement benefits both employee and employer. An employer’s fuel cost and vehicle maintance is easily covered because of this.
The insurer of the company has 15 days after the submission by the claimant to respond especially in the state of Atlanta, Georgia.
Send Us A Message in case of a query
Need Lawyer in Atlanta, Georgia?
Here are 3 reasons why choose us. We are –
Our relentless pursuit of justice fuels our actions, ensuring we go the extra mile for every client.
With a passion for helping others, we’re deeply committed to achieving the best results for you.
We approach each case with innovative strategies, adapting to unique challenges to find optimal solutions.